view counter
 
view counter
 
 

ORC Feature: From The Stand - June 23, 2010

from-the-stand-0622.jpg

Published: June 23, 2010 10:27 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

This week’s From The Stand will feature two races from Rideau Carleton Raceway.

Rideau Carleton Raceway – Sunday, June 13 – Race 4

A Driver’s Objection was lodged in Race 4 at Rideau Carleton Raceway on June 13/10 by Kyle Forgie, driving #8 Told On You, against the driver of #5 Duke, Stephane Gendron, before the three quarters. #5 Duke was the unofficial winner while #8 Told On You finished eighth. (click here for the chart)

The Judges referred to ORC Rules 22:05.01(a) and 22.09 during the Inquiry.

ORC Rule 22:05.01 reads:

“A driver shall not commit any of the following acts which are considered violations of driving rules: -

1. Change course or position, or swerve in or out, or bear in or out during any part of the race in such a manner as to compel a horse to shorten its stride or cause another driver to change course, take his or her horse back, or pull his or her horse out of its stride.”

ORC Rule 22:09 states:

“In the case of interference, collision, or violation of any rules, the offending horse may be placed back one or more positions in that heat or dash, and in the event of such collisions, interference or violation preventing any horse from finishing the heat or dash, the offending horse may be disqualified from receiving any winnings and the driver may be fined or suspended. If a horse is set back, it must be placed behind the horse with which it interfered. If an offending horse has interfered with a horse involved in a dead heat and the offending horse is set back, it must be placed behind the horses in the dead heat.”

The Judges used the pan, front and back tower while reviewing the Inquiry tape. Using the back tower shot in the Inquiry tape above, #8 Told On You can be found following third-over cover down the backside and moves out to the three-wide path for driver Kyle Forgie before the three quarters. As he begins to advance on the outside, driver Stephane Gendron (sitting second-over) changes course with #5 Duke by going three-wide too, but interferes with #8 Told On You and causes that horse to make a break.

The Judges ruled that #5 Duke did cause interference to #8 Told On You and therefore upheld the objection, as per ORC Rule 22:05.01(a).

As a result, #5 Duke was first placed eighth behind #8 Told On You, as ORC Rule 22:09 states. #8 Told On You was charted with an interference break (ix) in the third quarter.

Rideau Carleton Raceway – Thursday, June 17 – Race 8

Two Driver’s Objections were lodged in Race 8 at Rideau Carleton Raceway on June 17/10. Both objections occurred during the stretch drive. The first was by driver Stephane Audet aboard #1 Emotion Drummond against driver Guy Gagnon on #2 Fier Willy Semalu. The second objection was Guy Gagnon (#2 Fier Willy Semalu) against the driver of #5 Gigis Shanghai, Gilles Gendron.

Unofficially, #5 Gigis Shanghai finished first, #2 Fier Willy Semalu was second and #1 Emotion Drummond was fourth. (click here for the chart)

The Judges used ORC Rules 22:05.01(a)(b) and 22:09 while dealing with the objections.

ORC Rule 22:05.01 reads:

“A driver shall not commit any of the following acts which are considered violations of driving rules: -

1. Change course or position, or swerve in or out, or bear in or out during any part of the race in such a manner as to compel a horse to shorten its stride or cause another driver to change course, take his or her horse back, or pull his or her horse out of its stride.
2. Impede the progress of another horse or cause it to break from its gait.”

ORC Rule 22:09 states:

“In the case of interference, collision, or violation of any rules, the offending horse may be placed back one or more positions in that heat or dash, and in the event of such collisions, interference or violation preventing any horse from finishing the heat or dash, the offending horse may be disqualified from receiving any winnings and the driver may be fined or suspended. If a horse is set back, it must be placed behind the horse with which it interfered. If an offending horse has interfered with a horse involved in a dead heat and the offending horse is set back, it must be placed behind the horses in the dead heat.”

The Judges used the pan and front tower shots while looking at the Inquiry film.

Coming out of the final turn, the front tower shot (available above) shows #5 Gigis Shanghai (Gilles Gendron) on the lead, #2 Fier Willy Semalu (Guy Gagnon) starting to move out of the two-hole and #1 Emotion Drummond (Stephane Audet) racing on the outside third. As the field makes its way down the stretch, the tape shows that #5 Gigis Shanghai changes course by drifting out into the path of #2 Fier Willy Semalu and impedes his progress. In turn, #1 Emotion Drummond is interfered with, as is #7 Casino Heist (Don Jobin), who was following #1 Emotion Drummond.

The Judges ruled that the interference in the stretch was caused by #5 Gigis Shanghai. Therefore, the first objection of #1 on #2 was disallowed; however, the second objection of #2 on #5 was upheld, as per ORC Rules 22:05.01(a)(b).

As a result, #5 Gigis Shanghai was first placed fifth behind #7 Casino Heist, as ORC Rule 22:09 states. #1 Emotion Drummond, #2 Fier Willy Semalu and #7 Casino Heist were all charted with an interference (i) in the stretch.


If you wish to send feedback on this feature, or if there is a race you would like to suggest for a future From The Stand feature, please post your message in the comment box below. All feedback will be sent to the ORC Judges.


view counter
 
 
 

© 2017 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal