Wittup Elected To Third Term As Chair

Published: February 2, 2010 04:33 pm EST

On Saturday, January 30, Standardbred Canada elected its Officers & Executive Committee for 2010, re-electing Jackson Wittup to his third term as Chair of

Standardbred Canada.

Elected to office are:

Tammy McNiven (Vice-Chair)
Chuck Ibey (Chair of Breeders Committee)
Jim Lehman (Executive Committee Member, representing the Ontario region)
George Riley (Executive Committee Member, representing the Atlantic region)
Richard Veilleux (Executive Committee Member, representing the Quebec region)
Jackson Wittup (Chair of Board)

Also continuing in their terms of office are Rosenna So as Chief Financial Officer and Caren Brown as Corporate Secretary.
The SC Board convened on Friday, January 30 and the morning of Saturday, January 31 before the 11th Annual Meeting of Members (AMM) on Saturday afternoon. A motion was brought forward to the AMM by SC Director Eric Johnston to move the minimum age of drivers from 18 to 16 in the spirit of promoting youth. John Zahara seconded the motion. Since the By-Laws cannot be changed at the AMM, the motion will go the By-Law Committee and Board of Directors for review.

As well, the SC financial statements for fiscal 2009 were approved. To view the financial statements, click here.



Good for Mr. Wittup! He is a top-notch individual and someone any orginization should want as it's leader.

Standardbred Canada did a good job here.