USTA Considers Rule And Bylaw Changes

Published: September 20, 2021 11:17 am EDT

A total of 23 rule change and three bylaw proposals have been submitted to the U.S. Trotting Association and will be voted upon by the USTA directors in March at the 2022 annual meeting in Columbus, Ohio.

The 2022 proposed rule changes may be found here.

Prior to the final decision on which rules will be adopted, amended or rejected, they will be discussed at each of the USTA’s 12 district meetings. USTA members in attendance at each district meeting will review and vote to provide a recommendation for each proposal; those recommendations will be submitted to the full Board of Directors at the annual meeting where the final decisions on rule change proposals will be made.

All USTA members are asked to consider the proposed rule changes and encouraged to attend their local district meeting to provide input. Members who are unable to attend their local meeting are urged to contact their local directors prior to the meeting date.

The names and contact information for directors in each district and a schedule of district meetings are available on the USTA website.

Current USTA members with an email address on file will also be emailed a link to vote upon the rule change proposals and submit comments prior to their district meeting.

The 23 rule change proposals cover a wide range of issues that include medical assistance at racetracks, horse identification, electronic claiming and voidable claims, selection of drivers in stakes races, trainer continuing education, pre-race interference, whip specifications, breaking rules, breeding regulations, and name changes.

The three bylaw proposals deal with the creation of a new Equestrian membership, annual elections of USTA directors at district meetings, and the addition of a Trainer Continuing Education Committee.

Proposals were submitted by racetrack executives, owners and breeders, USTA directors and staff, the Hambletonian Society, racing officials and others.

Submissions came from numerous states including Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Indiana, Minnesota, New York, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania and South Carolina.