Pebble Beach, Beach Glass Set For Epic Battle In Adios

Logo for the Adios
Published: July 27, 2022 12:01 pm EDT

Elimination winners Pebble Beach and Beach Glass will leave from post positions three and five, respectively, in Saturday's $350,000 final of the Delvin Miller Adios Pace for the Orchids at Hollywood Casino at The Meadows.

Connections of the eliminations winners selected their post positions, with Pebble Beach choosing first after winning a draw with Beach Glass for that right. All other post positions were determined by random draw.

The Adios anchors a blockbuster 16-race card that features six Grand Circuit stakes, including the Quinton Patterson Adioo Volo for three-year-old filly pacers. First post is 11:45 a.m., with the Adios going as Race 15 with an approximate post time of 5 p.m.

While there's talent aplenty in the Adios field, the race shapes up as another battle between Beach Glass and Pebble Beach, the titans of the three-year-old colt pacing division, in their season-long struggle for supremacy.

Beach Glass (Somebeachsomewhere-Im With Her), who won the Meadowlands Pace for Yannick Gingras, trainer Brent MacGrath and owner Schooner II Stable, jogged to a 5-3/4-length victory in his elimination. North America Cup champion Pebble Beach (Downbytheseaside-Santa Rosa) was just as dominant in his elimination, scoring by exactly the same margin as Beach Glass did. Todd McCarthy drove for trainer Noel Daley and owners Patricia Stable, Joe Sbrocco, Country Club Acres and Laexpressfoderadeovalente.

Trainer Tony Alagna sends out three (Atlas Hanover, Nautical Hanover, Quick Snap) in the final while trainer Ron Burke is represented by a pair (Bythemissal, River Ness).

Here's the Adios field in post position order with drivers (before changes) and trainers:

1. Atlas Hanover - Andrew McCarthy - Tony Alagna
2. Ario Hanover - David Miller - Brian Brown
3. Pebble Beach - Todd McCarthy - Noel Daley
4. River Ness - Ronnie Wrenn Jr. - Ron Burke
5. Beach Glass - Yannick Gingras - Brent MacGrath
6. Fourever Boy - Mike Wilder - Tim Twaddle
7. Bythemissal - Chris Page - Ron Burke
8. Quick Snap - Dave Palone - Tony Alagna
9. Nautical Hanover - Todd McCarthy - Tony Alagna