Nova Scotia Award Winners Feted

Published: March 27, 2017 04:05 pm EDT

George Teague Jr. helped fete last year’s stars from the Nova Scotia racing industry, as the distinguished horseman served as the special guest speaker for the Truro Harness Horse Owners Association’s annual banquet and awards gala.

The banquet took place on Saturday (March 25) at the Best Western Glangarry, located in Truro, Nova Scotia, and Teague helped honour some of the best from the province’s 2016 racing season.

Pasta Vera was unveiled as horse of the year. From 31 starts in 2016, the Mcardle gelding raced to a record of nine wins, six second-place finishes and a pair of thirds, good for almost $8,000 in purses. Trainer Pamela Moore co-owns the eight-year-old along with Penny Wesley.

Darren Crowe was honoured as the top dash-winning driver (with over 100 starts). He made a total of 246 starts in 2016 and recorded 44 wins, 38 second-place finishes and 33 thirds. He steered his mounts to over $71,000 in purse earnings and sported a seasonal UDR of .309.

George Rennison was recognized as the top winning trainer (with over 100 starts). Rennison’s stable sent out 183 starters during the campaign and found the winner’s circle on 42 occasions. His stable recorded 26 second-place finishes and 17 thirds. The stables purse earnings came in at just over $36,000 and Rennison’s sported a seasonal UTR of .339.

The association also unveiled its owners of the year, as awards were handed out to Ryder Matthews-Rennison, Andrea Rennison and Cathy Benedict.

A complete gallery of photos from the evening are available on Facebook by clicking here.


Two-Year-Old Filly
• Elektra Express

Two-Year-Old Colt
• Mighty Cowboy

Two-Year-Old Trot
• Majian Tango

Three-Year-Old Filly
• West River Ambyr

Three-Year-Old Colt
• Preceptor

Three-Year-Old Trot
• Dunmore Ace


Two-Year-Old Trotting Colt
• Pappy Go Go

Three-Year-Old Pacing Filly
• West River Ambyr

Breeders Award
• Haley MacDonald

Two-Year-Old Colt (Sponsored by KPD Standardbreds)
• Mighty Cowboy

Two-Year-Old Filly (Sponsored by Don Smith Furnishings)
• Elektra Express

Three-Year-Old Filly (Sponsored by Pye Chevrolet)
• Howmac Fiesty

Three-Year-Old Colt (SKM Warehouse Services)
• PH Blackjack

Claiming Horse of the Year (Sponsored by Ross Toole Memorial)
• Our Star

Claiming Mare of the Year (Sponsored by Pro Cresting Design)
• Gwinning Gwen

Most Improved Horse of the Year (Sponsored by Red Bull)
• Pasta Vera

Most Improved Mare of the Year
• Charlottes Style

Horse of the Year (Sponsored by Ron Roode Masonry)
• Pasta Vera

Mare of the Year (Sponsored by RDMD Refrigeration)
• Desire Dorleans

Top Dash Winning Driver Over 50 Under 100 (Sponsored by Truro Raceway)
• Ryan Ellis

Top Dash Winning Driver Over 100 (Sponsored by Truro Raceway)
• Darren Crowe

Top Winning Trainer Over 50 Under 100 (Sponsored by Truro Raceway)
• Darren Crowe

Top Winner Trainer Over 100 (Sponsored by Truro Raceway)
• George Rennison

Senior Horseperson Award (Sponsored by Charlottetown Vet Clinic)
• Bob Skinner

Horsewoman of the Year (Sponsored by Jim’s Barbershop)
• Tammy Mackay

Grooms of the Year (Sponsored by Sandy Shearer – Tim Horton’s Halifax)
• Tristen Maclean
• Troy Delaney
• Drake Varner

The Jamieson 3-D Award (Dedication, Determination, Desire) in the Sport of Harness Racing
• Jamie Ramsay

Junior Horseperson Award (Sponsored by the Truro Harness Horse Owners Association)
• Bailiey Chase-Merner

Jim Chambers Sportsmanship Driver Award
• Robert Laffin

Jim Chambers Sportsmanship Trainer Award
• Joe Gillis

Jim Chambers Sportsmanship Groom Award
• Ryder Rennison

Jim Chambers Lifetime Achievement Award
• Danny Romo

High Percentage Driver Award In Memory of Neldie Haley
• Ryan Ellis

Owner of the Year Award
• Ryder Matthews-Rennison
• Andrea Rennison
• Cathy Benedict

Rising Star Award
• Tristen Maclean

Awards of Appreciation were presented by the Truro Harness Horse Owners Association to Jim Chambers and Ronnie Roode for their continued support to the industry and the association.

(With files from the Truro Harness Horse Owners Association)